\Here’s something that I found highly amusing – an announcement at the Anime News Network of a new anime called “Library War.” I’ve never heard of Chocolate Underground or Prince of Tennis, the director’s other works, but I guess this is a big deal in the anime world, of which I am embarrassingly ignorant.

The movie clip is in Japanese, so most of us won’t know what the characters are talking about, but it appears that all the young cool characters don green uniforms to defend libraries and bookstores against a repressive force (boo! hiss!) in brown (mauve? I couldn’t tell) uniforms. There’s a young teen girl among them who seems to be driven utterly wild when a hulking soldier tries to take her books away. Here’s the description of the film:

The action comedy anime adapts Hiro Arikawa‘s popular novel about battles fought to preserve libraries when a new law threatens to clamp down on freedom of expression in 2019.

I’ve never heard of Hiro Arikawa. I wonder if any of his stuff has ever been translated into English?

