Children and TechnologyTwo links passed me by recently that I must pass on to you. The first one takes us back to this past fall, when I was waiting anxiously for the movie adaptation of The Golden Compass to arrive in theaters. Now that TGC‘s been released on DVD, it appears as the lead in a slide show on the Entertainment Weekly site called “Read the Book! 23 Disappointing Movie Adaptations.”

I ended up going to the movies twice (one a free preview, one I paid for) to see The Golden Compass, and in the end I had to admit that although there were a lot of things I liked about the film version (I thought the cast did an excellent job with the abbreviated script), it was still too chopped up and jumbled that to be easy to follow. Plus it had been cut so short that if you hadn’t read the book, there was a lot about Lyra’s alternate world that would be hard to grasp. Its worst sin, as the EW.com caption says, was that the film version “diluted its more sinister, religion-defying Magisterium elements into family-friendly pop soda.”

The other link may gross you out, particularly when you look over at all those public access PCs that all those kids and teens are typing and mousing upon. This Yahoo News article is called “Computer keyboards can be dirtier than a toilet: study.” Here’s a quote that sums up a study done by a UK computer magazine, Which? Computing:

“Most people don’t give much thought to the grime that builds up on their PC, but if you don’t clean your computer, you might as well eat your lunch off the toilet,” said Sarah Kidner, editor of “Which? Computing” in a statement.

Does your library clean the keyboards and mice of its public PCs? If not, all I can say is “eww.” Get those latex gloves out…

