I was quite young when A Wrinkle in Time was published in 1963. I was too young to care about things like Newbery Awards then, but I do remember that a teacher I had around that time read the book aloud to my fifth-grade class. It was big, mysterious, and spooky, and became one of the books, along with Norton Juster’s The Phantom Tollbooth and Ursula K. LeGuin’s A Wizard of Earthsea, that turned me into a lifelong fantasy and sf reader.

Having just discovered the news of her death at the age of 88, we can’t forget all the great things Madeleine L’Engle added to the canon of children’s literature. Anyone who has read her books knows they weren’t simple entertainments, but dealt with time, space, morality, and family. She was one of the first “modern” (however you define that word these days – I think I just mean “post-C.S. Lewis”) writers about spirituality for young people. Anyone who’s read her stuff knows that her work won’t be forgotten.

