I’m going to start getting more serious about trying to convince anyone reading this blog that the ukulele rules as far as being a very cool, impressive instrument when you’re young. (And a few adults, such as yours truly, continue to think so, too.)

Here’s a beginning point I highly recommend if you’re new to the ukulele or just coming back; it’s a pdf document from a ukulele teacher and blogger named Tonya who lives in Paradise, CA. It’s the basic information you need to start learning the uke. The two most important pages are the chart of chords and the instructions on how to tune the uke. There are only three chords that truly matter when you are a children’s librarian: C, F, and G7 (C7 is really easy as well, and a good fourth chord). Learn those three/four chords and practice changing between them, and you will have at least a hundred songs – all, of course, in the key of C – that small children enjoy at your disposal. You’ll find “This Land is Your Land,” an old library favorite, in Tonya’s packet, too. I’m also including my version of Down By the Bay for your enjoyment. I have a bunch more songs if people are interested. Let me know if you are…

